Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

blueczarina
      Keymaster

We got to talking awhile back. About religion. Arthur saved the conversation and sent it to me. I thought it would be cool to get everyone’s take on it. :D

WARNING: LONG READ!

————————————————————————————————————————————–

Derek: it’s thunderstorming here, i’m staring at it
      sorry for delay
      my kitty’s rain sleep worked

me: no problem… talking about that, i have the itchy feeling we are seeing more storms last few years, here in NL at least. last year 2 windows where blown from my house!

Derek: fawesome
      not for you, but i love storms
      hey
      i’m a geologist
      you know that

me: oh i love them too!

Derek: our perspective of time is seriously warped
      earth?
      4.6 billion years
      man?
      100,000 years
      if you do the math
      we’ve been around (in a 24-hour day), for the last fucking minute
      that’s it
      i’m entranced by rain

me: yup, true. and we might be gone in the 3rd minute again. nothing to worry about

Derek: it, over time, turns mountains into valleys
      it’s fascinating

me: yeah. they even find seashelves in the Himalaya if I’m right, and all continents float away and towards each other again. Mankind is just a little thingy happening somewhere in the universe, earth is not even a molucule inside a tiny bit of sanddust in the shoe of a giant

Derek: there you go
      glad you feel like i do
      man always concerned about mother earth…guess what? she’ll be fine. man? we’re fucked.

me: i guess you’re not the one to believe in an afterlife, right?

Derek: ummm
      religion and science
      i don’t mix
      although
      they are one in the same
      lol
      here’s why

me: yeah somehow they are, and somehow they aren;t also. religion = based on fear for the unknown and the suffering, and philosophy and science is questioning the things that happen